Brain-eating amoebas

In Minnesota we have some of the crappiest weather on the planet but as a benefit we’ve generally been able to avoid the unpleasantness of things like earthquakes (yes I know earthquakes aren’t weather), hurricanes, tarantulas, giant centipedes, or human bot flies. Yes, it’s colder than a “witch’s tit in a brass bra” six to nine months out of the year but we hardy Minnesotan’s rest easy knowing we typically won’t end up being the host of some nightmarish parasite.

We rest easy no more. According to Katie Drummond of The Verge Brain-eating amoebas thrive in US lakes as global warming heats waterways. I grew up swimming in many of the 10,000 lakes of Minnesota and now I’m fairly positive I’ll never dip another toe in any of these frigid waters again.

Tell me again why I live in Minnesota?

Yeah, I thought so.

