Therm-O Glass Double Walled Water Bottle

The Aquaovo Therm-O double glass walled water bottle I ordered last Friday was waiting on my doorstep when I got home from work yesterday so I gave it the inaugural test run this morning. I’d ordered it after reading this post over at Tools and Toys. The justification Shawn used in choosing this bottle for coffee seemed logical and well thought out and since I’m always on the look out for the perfect coffee mug I was intrigued.

Lets get right too it. Good things about the bottle are:

  1. It’s a nice glass bottle with a tight fitting lid and of course it comes with the tea filter.
  2. Coffee tastes excellent: no off taste from stainless steel.
  3. The double wall is nice and keeps the bottle just warm to the touch. It’s the middle of winter here so I can’t test how it fares in terms of condensation during a hot and humid summer.
  4. It fit into my Keurig coffee maker (just barely).
  5. It’s spill proof as long as the cap is screwed on tight (stating the obvious here).
  6. The bottle is dishwasher safe.
  7. It looks cool.

Bad things about the bottle are:

  1. It didn’t keep my coffee warm nearly as long as my Contigo travel mug.
  2. Drinking from it in a moving car proved awkward at best because you have to unscrew the lid, set it down somewhere, take a sip then put the lid back on when you’re done so you don’t lose heat.
  3. I’m afraid I’ll drop and break it. It’s made of borosilicate glass so in theory it should be less prone to breakage than regular soda-lime glass but I’m not about to perform a drop test on $34.90 glass water bottle.
  4. The lid is not dishwasher safe.

Additional thoughts:

  • I live in Minnesota so it was probably too much to expect the bottle to keep my coffee as hot as my Contigo mug. The double wall traps and uses air as an insulator but when the outside wall of the bottle it subjected to Minnesota winter temperatures, even for short periods of time, my coffee’s temperature is going to take a major hit. I might try priming the bottle tomorrow with hot tap water to see if that helps.
  • I should’ve thought through the screw on lid a bit more. Compared to an actual coffee travel mug it should’ve been obvious that drinking from the bottle in a moving vehicle would be much less convent than, for example, pushing the button on my Contigo mug.

I haven’t given up on the bottle after only one day. As I said, I’m going to prime it tomorrow and hope that adds some significant hot coffee time to the less than satisfactory time it kept it hot today. I drink tea as well so I’ll give it a whirl at what it’s actually made for later this week. I have no doubt it’ll work well for cold drinks this summer. I’ve had other double walled containers and they’re the only way to go in hot, humid weather.

Gratuitous Coffee Mug Filling:

One thought on “Therm-O Glass Double Walled Water Bottle

Leave a Reply

